Thurston County, WA

Thurston County, WA

Thurston County is among the counties in Washington State, USA. Based on the population census back in 2010, the county has a total of 252,264 residents. Unlike Lewis County, which largest city is not its capital, Thurston County’s seat is Olympia (the county’s largest city). The county was created by Oregon Territory’s government on the 12th day of January 1852. During that time, it was a portion of the Lewis County, covering all regions of the Olympic Peninsula as well as the Puget Sound. Before that year ends; four (4) other counties were created out of Thurston County namely Island County, King County, Jefferson County, and Pierce County. The name of Thurston County was taken in recognition of Samuel R. Thurston, the first Congress delegate of the Oregon Territory.


This side of Washington State has everything to offer when it comes to rich geographic features. Though it only has a single National protected area, the Nisqually National Wildlife Refuge, it is a sanctuary that is beautified by several bodies of water. As a matter of fact, Thurston County is among the areas in this state that have the finest watersheds which include the following:

  • Ward Lake
  • Trosper Lake
  • Trails End Lake
  • Totten Inlet
  • Susan Lake
  • Summit Lake
  • Springer Lake
  • Southwick Lake
  • Smith Lake
  • Skookumchuck River
  • Simmons Lake
  • Scott Lake
  • Clair Lake
  • Reichel Lake
  • Puget Sound
  • Patterson Lake
  • Offut Lake
  • Nisqually River
  • Munn Lake
  • Mima Mounds
  • McIntosh Lake
  • Long Lake
  • Lois Lake
  • Lake Lawrence
  • Hicks Lake
  • Hewitt Lake
  • Henderson Inlet
  • Grass Lake
  • Gehrke Lake
  • Fifteen Lake
  • Eld Inlet
  • Elbow Lake
  • Deschutes River
  • Deep Lake
  • Coopers Pothole
  • Clear Lake
  • Chehalis River
  • Chambers Lake
  • Capitol State Forest
  • Capitol Peak
  • Capitol Lake
  • Budd Inlet
  • Black River
  • Black Lake
  • Bigelow Lake
  • Bass Lake
  • Barnes Lake
  • Bald Hill Lake
  • Alder Lake

Major Highways

  • Interstate 5
  • S. 12
  • S. 101
  • SR 507
  • SR 510

Neighboring Counties

  • Pierce County(Northeast)
  • Mason County (North/Northwest)
  • Grays Harbor County(West)
  • Lewis County(South)


  • Yelm
  • Tumwater
  • Tenino
  • Rainier
  • Olympia(county seat)
  • Lacey


  • Bucoda

Census-designated areas

  • Tanglewilde — Thompson Place
  • Rochester
  • North Yelm
  • Nisqually Indian Community
  • Grand Mound

Unincorporated communities

  • Vail
  • Union Mill
  • Steamboat Island
  • South Bay
  • Schneiders Prairie
  • Saint Clair
  • Offutt Lake
  • Mushroom Corner
  • Maytown
  • Littlerock
  • Lake Lawrence
  • Kellys Corner
  • Indian Summer
  • Gate
  • East Olympia
  • Driftwood
  • Boston Harbor


In Thurston County, external employment opportunities are open to both current and previous employees in the county. Everyone who will be able to meet the minimum qualifications for open positions can make an application. This shows how the local government works for equality in term of employment opportunities.