Lewis County, WA

Lewis County, WA

Lewis County is one of the thirty-nine (39) counties in Washington State, USA. Based on the population census back in 2010, the county has a total of 75,554 inhabitants. While Centralia has been known to be the largest city, the county’s capital however is Chehalis. The original name of the county is Vancouver County (named after George Vancouver). It was created by Oregon’s provincial government on the 19th day of December 1845.In the year 1849; it was renamed to what has long been known today as Lewis County (renamed after Meriwether Lewis)


Lewis County is take pride of awesome geography, which makes the place a perfect vacation or holiday get-away destination. Also, this is the reason why the county has been able to maintain its rich traditionalism. Here is a list of amazing natural resources that add color to the beauty of the county:

  • Walupt Creek Falls
  • Riffe Lake
  • Nisqually River
  • Lake Mayfield
  • Cowlitz River
  • Chehalis River
  • Cascade Mountains
  • Big Horn (Lewis County’s highest place)

National protected areas

  • Part of Mount St. Helens Volcanic National Monument
  • Part of Mount Rainier National Park(part)
  • Mount Baker-Snoqualmie National Forest
  • Part of Gifford Pinchot National Forest

Major highways

  • S. Route 12
  • Interstate 5

Adjacent counties

  • Yakima County(East)
  • Thurston County(North)
  • Pierce County(North/Northeast)
  • Grays Harbor County (North/northwest)


While Lewis County only has a single town, Pe Ell, it is not being left behind when it comes to having some of America’s most viable cities and communities to live in. These include the following:


  • Chehalis(county seat)
  • Centralia
  • Napavine
  • Vader
  • Morton
  • Winlock
  • Mossyrock
  • Toledo

Unincorporated Communities

  • Wildwood
  • Silver Creek
  • Salkum
  • Saint Urban
  • Randle
  • Newaukum
  • Marys Corner
  • Littell
  • Lacamas
  • Klaber
  • Harmony
  • Glenoma
  • Galvin
  • Evaline
  • Ethel
  • Dryad
  • Doty
  • Curtis
  • Cinebar
  • Ceres
  • Bunker
  • Boistfort
  • Alpha
  • Adna

Census-designated places

  • Fords Prairie
  • Onalaska
  • Mineral
  • Packwood

Politics and Government

Arguably, the most traditional county in the western Washington area is Lewis County. As compared to its neighboring counties (except Yakima County), this county is more supportive on the Republican side of US Government. As a matter of fact, George W. Bush obtained more than 60% of Lewis County’s total number of votes in the 2000 Presidential Elections. The county’s support for the Republicans is also one of the major reasons why John McCain lost to Barack Obama in most counties in the Western Washington during the 2008 Presidential Elections.

Since 1992, there is a noticeable trend that Republican US Presidential candidates commonly win by more than 10% in this county. The most recent time a “Democrat” Presidential candidate won the votes in this county was 64 years ago, when Lyndon B. Johnson run for US President. Lewis County is represented in the Third District of Washington by Jamie H. Butler (a Republican Congresswoman).